Suit Up, Show Up and Shut Up!


 

I know, it sounds harsh, but I kindasortareallymaybe mean it to be.  

I’m tired of the whining. Moaning. Groaning. Complaining. Resenting. Blaming. Self righteous attitudes.  Ya’ know?? You feeling me?  

You have probably identified the culprit.  You know exactly who in your office I am talking about right now.  

Guess what?  I’m talking to you.

Whoa.  Sorry, had to be said.

So ok, we all have our days when we just have to vent.  It’s part of being human and not being able to separate ourselves from others in the workplace.  But we can learn some Emotional Intelligence.  Oh gosh.  Yes, I went there.  Emotional Intelligence.  Seriously?  Let’s break it down.

Simply, in a nutshell EI  is about understanding our emotions (and the emotions of those around us) and learning to manage the way we handle them – in the worlplace and the rest of our lives. Oxymoron? Perhaps in some work places I’ve seen, but there’s hope.

1.  Suit Up – Learn to Ignore your feelings.  Kinda ridiculous sounding when I am trying to make a point about EMOTIONAL Intelligence, so let me rephrase that.  Learn to ignore ACTING from your feelings.  More days than not, I don’t FEEL like doing the things I need to do (anyone tells me that they truly FEEL JOY when faced with making cold calls and I’ll punch them in the face – but that wouldn’t be emotionally intelligent – I digress)  

2.  Show Up – it’s in choosing to do the right things that our emotions catch up to our choices.  I don’t feel like going to work.  I don’t feel like sitting in this meeting.  I feel like I want to tell him off.  When you react from your feelings it often results in a very poor outcome. Choose activities because it’s the right thing to do, not because you feel a certain way at a certain moment.  Feelings come and go quickly, consequences from making the wrong choice can stay with you forever.

3.  Shut Up – Stop the negativity. Stop the complaints.  Stop the finger pointing.  Stop the gossip.  It’s all about “what goes around comes around” and I’ve said this before:  You are either part of the problem or part of the solution, but you can’t be both.  Choose to be the latter.

Ok, pretty straight forward on this post.  But that’s how we like it – Short, Sweet & To the point.

About amidean

An entrepreneur with 20 years experience, Ami most recently started the newest addition to her business family, The Rally Point. As the CEO & Mailroom Clerk at The Rally Point, Ami oversees Operations, Sales, Marketing and well, um, the mailroom. After starting WithIn, Inc. (an employee training and development firm) in 2005, she found herself repeatedly asked by her clients to find them a venue with a more inspiring and creativity provoking environment than the saltine cracker hotel room or in-house training room. Frustrated that she couldn't fill her clients requests (simply because it didn't exist in the market) she, being the customer service fanatic she is, created it for them. Ami holds her MBA but she truly feels her greatest accomplishment is being a living example of work/life harmony and to make that work - "You've gotta get creative!' she says. Ami has always felt that if fun couldn't be part of her job responsibilities, she just wouldn't fit the culture. "Now, I laugh, play and am truly able to create the perfect environment for those teams, businesses and organizations that need to incorporate fun into their meetings to boost creativity, production, morale and inspiration. My job rocks and so does The Rally Point, I mean, have you seen this place?" Fiercely passionate about her faith, her three daughters, and the MiAMI Dolphins, Ami still finds time to enjoy sitting on the Boards of Easter Seals of LaSalle and Bureau Counties and Women in Leadership of Central Illinois, shopping, interior design and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

